MERcosur Foreign Ministers Issue Alert at UN on Serious Nature of US Espionage

The foreign ministers of the five MERCOSUR member countries came to the United Nations on Monday, August 5 to issue an important warning to the international community. MERCOSUR is the Southern Common Market made up of the countries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Uruguay and Venezuela. The five Ministers had a meeting with UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon. The purpose of the meeting was to explain to the Secretary General, their countries’ concern over what they referred to as the “acts of espionage carried out by intelligence agencies of the United States of America which affect all countries in the region.” The Ministers presented Ban Ki Moon with a resolution on this issue passed at the meeting of MERCOSUR on July 12, 2013.(1) After they met with Ban Ki-moon, the five Foreign Ministers held a press conference.